Home » Features, Wii

We Sing: UK Hits (An update for an update…)

14:2604/10/2011Posted by Simeon PaskellOne Comment

As a site primarily focused on reviewing videogames, our job here at D+PAD is to play the latest releases, give you a low-down and (thoughtfully, of course) slap a score at the end so that you – the reader – can make a well informed decision of how to spend your hard earned cash. When Nordic Games’ latest party game, We Sing: UK Hits recently landed on our desk, however, we felt that we had to stray from this role slightly.

The reason for this is as follows: We Sing: UK Hits is, to all intents and purposes, the exact same game as We Sing: Encore – a title that we reviewed in that we covered in August 2010. While we in no way wish to diminish the hard work that Nordic Games have put into crafting this latest addition to the We Sing family, there really isn’t much more we can say about the series that hasn’t all ready been said. Therefore, do not consider this a review; it’s more of an addendum to our original coverage in which we gave the game 3.5 stars out of 5 and praised its delivery of a well rounded package that did a good job of catering for the Wii’s audience.

It seems sensible for We Sing to shift its attention more directly to the UK, as it is in the UK that the game enjoys greatest success. Fortunately, the UK has long been churning out music of extremely high quality, giving UK Hits an enviable pool of tracks from which to draw, and the eclectic selection of songs included is actually rather nice. Rather than skim over this (and highlight our own personal favourites), the track list can be found in full below.

Unsurprisingly, Nordic Games have yet again taken the ‘something for everybody’ approach, but (as is always the case with karaoke titles) how tempted you are by the track list is dependent on personal preference. That being said, there are a lot of classic tracks on show here that should make the title ideal Christmas Party fodder.

So…with We Sing: UK Hits, the series has retained it 3.5/5 score – it will be interesting to see if it can up the stakes in its future releases.

1 Adele – Chasing Pavements
2 Amy Winehouse – Rehab
3 The Animals – The House of the Rising Sun
4 Bananarama – Venus
5 The Beautiful South – A Little Time
6 Blur – Girls and Boys
7 Bucks Fizz – Making Your Mind Up
8 Coldplay – Speed of Sound
9 David Bowie – Let’s Dance
10 Dido – White Flag
11 Dusty Springfield – Son Of A Preacher Man
12 East 17 – Stay Another Day
13 Eliza Doolittle – Pack Up
14 Elton John – Candle In The Wind
15 Example – Kickstarts
16 Florence + The Machine – You’ve Got The Love
17 Gabrielle – Dreams
18 Happy Mondays – Step On
19 James Blunt – You’re Beautiful
20 Jay Sean feat. Lil Wayne – Down
21 Jessie J – Do It Like A Dude
22 Kim Wilde – Kids in America
23 Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love
24 Lulu & The Luvvers – Shout
25 Madness – It Must Be Love
26 McFly – 5 Colours In Her Hair
27 Plan B – She Said
28 Pulp – Common People
29 Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now
30 Queen & David Bowie – Under Pressure
31 Radiohead – Creep
32 Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up
33 The Saturdays – Missing You
34 Spice Girls – Who Do You Think You Are
35 Sugababes – Push The Button
36 Texas – I Don’t Want A Lover
37 Tinchy Stryder Ft. N-Dubz -Number 1
38 The Ting Tings – That’s Not My Name
39 Tinie Tempah – Pass Out
40 Wham! – Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go

Have you downloaded the latest issue from GamerZines yet? Check it out here!

One Comment »

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.